Update: Unfortunately, the rumor was false. This time!
UK spammer jailed. 6 Years. Those Brits — always ahead of the curve!
So, this email arrived this morning…
Return-Path: askarana@hotmail.com
Received: from hotmail.com (bay16-f9.bay16.hotmail.com [65.54.186.59])
by dselwyn.they.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id C451478003
for < *redacted*@they.com>; Tue, 8 Nov 2005 05:15:54 -0600 (CST)
Received: from mail pickup service by hotmail.com with Microsoft SMTPSVC;
Tue, 8 Nov 2005 03:15:44 -0800
Message-ID:
Received: from 80.15.249.165 by by16fd.bay16.hotmail.msn.com with HTTP;
Tue, 08 Nov 2005 11:15:43 GMT
X-Originating-IP: [211.217.197.211]
X-Originating-Email: [askarana@hotmail.com]
X-Sender: askarana@hotmail.com
From: Rana Aska
To: *redcated*@they.com
Subject: 10,000 bucks
Date: Tue, 08 Nov 2005 04:15:43 -0700
Mime-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=ks_c_5601-1987; format=flowed
X-OriginalArrivalTime: 08 Nov 2005 11:15:44.0039 (UTC) FILETIME=[C2BC2370:01C5E455]
X-Virus-Scanned: by amavisd-new-20030616-p10 (Debian) at they.com
Lines: 6I wanna buy they.com at 10,000 bucks.
_________________________________________________________________
\277\300\264\303\300\272 \271\253\275\274\277\312\300\273 \300\324\300\273\261\356? \263\273\300\317\300\272 \276\356\265\360 \263\356\267\257 \260\241\301\366? MSN \263\257\276\276\277\241\274\255
\310\371\306\256\270\246..http://www.msn.co.kr/news/weather/default.asp
Beauty, huh? And of course, beauty is truth, and truth beauty…
Let’s see — anonymous business proposal through korean hotmail, from Akami/France telecom space. The second word is “wanna”. All specifics covered. They are sure their lawyers would jump right on this, and still find no holes!
OK, seriously. They have a response:
They are most honored and delighted with your proposal. They will happily write down the exact phrase “they.com” on a postcard and send it to you — anywhere in the world, in exchange for either $10,000 or 10,000 male deer. If you pay cash, they have a special 3-for-2 offer! They will send you three identical postcards — all with the world-famous phrase
they.comwritten on it for the one-time-only, incredibly low price of $20,000.*
*Disclaimer: offer not valid in reality. Anyone bringing deer or deer carcasses to they will be ejected from reality.
Now that’s too frigging bad, eh?
They dare you not to cringe when you hear the phrase:
Hot all-management action!
Scotty Richter has filed chapter 11.
If only it would truly take.
I wonder if he’ll risk spamming after the filing takes — he wouldn’t be able to hide quickly enough next time!
Spam News
- Politicians want to spam you.
- Their media consultants want to spam you.
- Throughout years of abuse of their constituencies, the house and senate did what they do best: nothing.
- When lawmakers in California finally got the message, and drew up a spam-fighting law with some teeth, however, congress finally lept into action:
They overruled it, so that they (and their buddies) can contintue to spam you.
They say: Anyone who votes for an incumbent is an idiot.
What a great story, what a terrible ending.
They have a favorite quote:
Mackay said such firms gave a bad name to the penis enhancement business
.
They did not want to recognise the evidence:
- Verisign and their wildcard fiasco preventing spam-blocking for forged, non-existent domains
- DDoS attacks taking out many effective blacklists
- Loud complaining about blocking email
- Inane bitching and sniping about tagging email
- An Oklahoma judge overriding the requests of 50 million people
In short, you are all owned by marketing types, and have been for quite some time now.
In light of these facts, as of 1 Oct 2003, the titular head of they will no longer be dealing directly with email in any form. If it is important enough, there are other method to use to make contact.
- a new dnsbl, sbbl.they.com, is available for public use. Recommended usage is only as a high score within spamassassin (or similar).
- Shame on MAPS for screwing and harassing one of their ex-employees. They no longer use MAPS, but instead encourage everyone to investigate using SPEWS, Osirusoft, and to use (and if at all possible, support) SpamCop.
- quote.com, and by extension, lycos.com are spammers. Their email is no longer welcome here.